zoeloukia

arabesque progress

Linked here is a video I took this morning of my progress learning Arabesque No. 1 by Debussy, a little project of mine for the last few days.

It's riddled with mistakes, but I think it's important to acknowledge the progress even if it's still far from polished. I'm just feeling pretty proud of myself considering it's the first completely new piece I've learned since 2020. In the clip, I wasn't using any sheet music, as I've finally memorized it! Not perfectly, but that's just a case of muscle memory and not of knowing what's coming next. As I do more and more runs, it'll sound a lot more confident.

The really cool thing for me has been that as I learn more and more and get past the stage of memorizing into slowly tweaking things like dynamics, tempo, things like that, the lessons that I had when I younger are starting to refresh themselves in my mind. Things that subtly improve your playing that you only learn through lessons and experience. Things like:

I'm leaving for Greece tomorrow, so I won't be able to play for a while. The progress I've made in the last 4-5 days has been more than enough to make me happy though!