zoeloukia

how to break free from overstimulation?

I feel like I'm in a constant loop of watching videos while I get ready, listening to music while I walk, scrolling through social media on the subway, endless meaningless stimulation. Thing is, when I decide I've had enough of it, what do I do? Watch youtube videos about watching less! How stupid is that?

As someone who's spent less of her life in a world without social media than one with, it's so deeply ingrained in the world around me that it's exceedingly hard to properly distance myself. My brain feels almost fried though, in the way that I get so bored trying to do monotonous activities, ones that just need doing. Cleaning my room, travelling around, etc. They get done, just with ample protest from my dopamine-addled brain.

What am I to do? Especially as an artist, exposure is so focused on the digital front now, and on the personal level, so many people exclusively use instagram as a form of communication. How many people's numbers past my best friends do I even have?

I really need to learn how to hone in my productivity past the point I'm at, the eternal struggle stage. Advice really just doesn't cut it anymore though, sorry Marie Kondo. Productivity intervention maybe?