zoeloukia

intervals of spring i

First verse of a poem I wrote earlier this spring.

The air smells like spring again

And I open the windows, let the draft wash over me

I read somewhere that spring is the season of death

And thinking about it, death has always haunted me this time of year.

i.

The wound is fresh this time around, and it’s not a dry chill like I feel death should be

It’s strangely warm, almost comforting?

Life comes with so much stress, such worry

I feel so guilty to say I felt almost a wash of relief.

It’s honey over a gash in my stomach

It smells of mildew, and tastes like fresh green onions

It’s frozen in a trance, in a house that still has dishes to be washed

With chicken thighs defrosting in the fridge.

It’s a chapter of my life that’s complete

Send it off with some knitted socks

Wash it away with a shot of brandy.