zoeloukia

little reminders of loved ones past

Just a little thing to mention.

Today I was having some of my boyfriend's grandma's leftovers, and all was well. They were DELICIOUS, of course. Keep in mind he's Serbian, and they have a pretty similar food culture to northern Greeks.

The second I tried his grandma's cheese pie, I burst into tears, unexpected to even me. I noticed before how remarkably similar it looked to my late grandma's cheese pies, but I didn't expect as soon as I bit in that it would taste almost exactly the same to those same pies that I would never be able to eat in my life again.

I find that the things that send me the strongest memories are senses that you have less control over. Taste and smell are hold much more natural, or maybe instinctual, associations than sight or touch I feel. Nothing will her match her pies, but I think tasting that one really just reminded me that I'll never have the real deal again.